Community · Leadership Development

LEAD Team Reflection

For the Leadership Advancement Scholarship, we are required to participate in a LEAD team. This means your group up with other LAS grades and perform some kind of service project or activity. This was something I was most excited about coming into my freshman year. I was ready to work on a project with people who care about it, just as much as I do.

IMG_5977My LEAD team this year was Relay for Life. We were challenged to create a table at the annual Relay for Life event hosted at CMU each year. We had to raise as much money as we could to be able to contribute to Cancer research. I was very nervous about this team because I had never participated in Relay for Life before. I had been to a few walks, however, I did not understand how it all worked. It was really amazing to work with my fellow team members to raise money for such an amazing cause.

My roommate lost her grandma to cancer. I have seen how it has impacted her in so many ways. She was also a part of the Relay for Life team, for me I felt like I had a purpose. It was such a rewarding feeling, working with my best friend in a cause that she cared about so deeply.

I raised over one-hundred dollars for the cause and worked the event. Working the event was one of the most rewarding parts of this team. It was such a fun day. Everyone’s leadership abilities shined throughout the day. I was able to stop walkers to take a picture with our sign and get them to buy a t-shirt for a donation. I was fun to be abe to talk to different people and learn about their survivor stories. During the day we also had a “Pie the LI” event where the walkers could come and pie us for only two dollars. I was pied a couple of times. It was definitely worth it in the end.

IMG_5972I learned so much from this experience. I learned how to raise money, how to work with a team, what Relay for Life is, and I also learned a new passion of mine. I want to continue to work with this organization and raise money for this cause.

Now that I have experienced a LEAD team first hand I cannot wait to do it again. I will encourage my mentee to be excited about the LEAD teams, and I will hopefully be able to be a part of the Relay for Life team again in the future.

Leave a Reply

