Leadership Development

My Current Leadership Reflection

Over and over again it is said that everyone is a leader. Everyone has a leadership quality inside of them, it’s up to you to find out how to use your leadership qualities for the better.

If you would’ve asked me a year ago, “What is your leadership style” I would’ve looked at you like you were crazy. However, today I have a better grasp on who I am as a person and even better as a leader. A year ago today I was just a simple high school student in leadership positions such as the softball and volleyball captain, student council and class council president, vice president of National Honors Society and yearbook editor. Today, I am in much less, yet, I know how to lead people differently.

In February of 2016, I attended a woman in leadership conference where I took the quiz to see which leader I was. I was a direct leader, which means I like to be vocal and in charge of things. In the fall semester of my freshman year I attended Spark Leadership, a leadership seminar ran by the Leadership Institute, and I found out that I was a spiritual leader which meant I like to influence others by my energy and voice. I have changed so much in such a short amount of time. I grew into a different leader because I wanted to be different from the girl in high school. I didn’t want to be the person that oversees everything. I want to be the girl that is in charge of a couple of things, however, puts forth 100 percent effort in those few clubs or volunteer opportunities.

I do not want to say wasn’t passionate about what I did in high school, however, I just feel so much different when I am involved here at college in things that actually matter to me. Yes, I loved everything I did and high school and I appreciate everyone who got me to the place that I was, yet, I just get such a better feeling when leading the things, I do today.

This first semester at college as opened my eyes to so many things. I have become passionate about things I never would have imagined myself even thinking about. I want to be a voice for every person that has felt anxious or depressed, I want to help families overcome their problems with their children, spouses, and family, I want to raise money for polio and other diseases rotary have pushed to eliminate. I want to make a difference. I have realized that my voice matters. I matter and people around me matter. My leadership skills have formed from experience, failures, and successes. I cannot wait to see where my leadership abilities are in four years when I have much more experience, failures and of course success.

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves” Philippians 2:3

Leave a Reply

