Community

Mentee Be Together <3

Mentors are all around us. A teacher, a coach, an older friend are all people that at some point in our lives we used as a resource to better ourselves. Whether that be through a mentoring program, at school or in a sport the mentor is always there for you to lean on. The Leadership Advancement Scholarship provided me not only with the millions of opportunities to make me successful they also provided me with an amazing mentor. For the program, I am in img_0300the sophomores mentor the incoming freshman and help them adjust to the college life. Then a couple weeks into the school year the mentors and mentees all go to a retreat at Eagle Village.

My mentor is Ijeoma Agomo. She is the most extraordinary, kind-hearted, loving person I have ever met. I remember meeting her on competition day. She was the person that was there for me and helped me get img_0302through the stressful day. She talked with me and laughed with me. She made me realize I belonged in this program, she made me work even harder so that I guaranteed a spot in LAS.

Of course a few long grueling months later everyone else started receiving their mentors yet, mine had still not contacted me. I got more and more anxious by the day. Then finally she tagged me in a photo on Facebook telling me I was her Mentee. I could not have been happier.

After a few weeks of college, Ijeoma and I went on the Mentor/Mentee retreat. There we laughed, loved and bonded with one another. At the camp, we did many team bonding exercises. It was really cool to watch my mentor step up to the challenge and pretty much lead my entire group.img_0301 She was very inspirational to me that weekend. On the last day of the trip, we went on a high ropes course. Ijeoma made me attempt things I would never have attempted without her. She made me brave, and she made me confident that I could do anything.

Now that I have seen how a mentor should act, I am going to use my knowledge to mentor my mentee like Ijeoma mentored me. I cannot wait to be a role model to someone, I cannot wait to be a mentor.

Ijeoma is not only my mentor, she is my mom away from home, my sister and now one of my dearest friends. I am so blessed to have had this opportunity to be paired up with such an amazing person. We were MENTEE BE TOGETHER ❤

Leave a Reply

